The Luckiest

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

In my life, life has been unfair. It has knocked me down, kicked me while I was down, and buried me alive.

It has also been unfair in my favor. It seems that whatever I truly need, I receive. I met the love of my life so very, very young. I have a strong, healthy body. I have loyal, wonderful friends. Whenever I wondered how the hell were going to pay our rent and still eat, something happened. Once I won 700 dollars right in time.

Another time of grace, my feet were hurting so badly I could hardly walk, and Sean’s mom bought me a new pair of shoes. My old glasses were broken, and my eyes had gotten much worse. My mom surprised me with a new pair.

I’m not rich, not really. I actually live below the poverty line. I have felt the desperation of empty cupboards. Yet, I’m content. No, I’m not a martyr. I’m just lucky. I met Sean. I go to college. I’ve got the best pets in the world. I’m happy, truly, honestly happy, most of the time. I still struggle. I still rage often enough, but deep within there is a rightness. I can’t explain it. I hope that everyone I love finds someone who fits them as well as Sean and I fit.

I’m not a believer in destiny. I don’t believe I am a good enough person to deserve what I’ve stumbled into. I haven’t suffered enough to deserve any of this, either. I can’t justify anything I have, honestly. It’s just dumb luck. I blundered wildly in the dark. I didn’t do anything right.

2 Responses to “The Luckiest”


  1. 1 Mama Nabi October 14, 2008 at 10:36 am

    I wonder if luck is contagious… and, if so, I wonder if you’d come and sneeze on my stuff. I tend to be an Even Steven, like Jerry Seinfeld… bad things happen but somehow a good thing makes up for it.

  2. 2 Angie in Texas October 15, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    and you’re even more “lucky” for being smart enough to know that what you have is good.

    =)

    i’m an even steven . . .


Leave a Reply

