Book Club

This is my month to host! Hooray! I picked an excellent graphic novel for you guys. Oh, yes, a graphic novel. All of you snobby-snobs who think that graphic novels are just “comics,” well, I hope this one can open your eyes.

I have picked Incognegro, by Mat Johnson and Warren Pleece. It is a noir-murder mystery set in the South during the 30s. A black reporter “passes” as white to investigate a murder that his brother supposedly committed. It deals with the issues that go with “passing,” which is a definite topic for those of us with varied backgrounds who appear “white.”

The art is fabulous, and the story is even better!

You can pick it up on Amazon.com, and I think Borders has it, too. Amazon is selling it really cheaply, though. I bought mine for 30, and it’s selling for 13! Doh!

3 Responses to “Book Club”


  1. 1 Mama Nabi September 22, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Dude. I think you’re supposed to go over to the bookclub page and announce this. 🙂

  2. 2 Mama Nabi September 22, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    …graphic novel, eh? I’ve done Sandman… and, of course, Maus.

  3. 3 papa2hapa September 27, 2008 at 1:12 am

    um, do you want to host here or just send me comments to post on my blog? either way, it matters not.


Leave a Reply

