A Cobra

Nobody would ever tell a cobra to get therapy, that it is just, “too angry.”

Nobody would ever tell a white man that, either. Well, a straight white man. Gay men are always getting therapy suggested.

I am a woman. My personality is that of a cobra. It takes me a while to get riled up, but when I do, you will get taken down. I am vicious, I am unkind.

So what if I get angry a lot of the time? There is a lot to get angry about! Racism, sexism, homophobia, classism. Those are just the ones in my neighbourhood, that directly influence my life! My personality is one that does not tolerate injustice.  I have some of the most loyal friends in the world. Why? Because I do not fake emotions. They know if I’m angry. Most of my friends are the same way. Maybe their personalities are not as volatile as mine, but they certainly are not fake idiots who lie through their teeth. They lie with their mouths wide open!

Sorry. I’m not going to fucking smile if I’m pissed off. I’m not going to fundamentally change who I am to make someone’s day a little more comfortable. That’s the problem, isn’t it? The issue is not that people especially care if I’m wrecking my own life by being angry. They just don’t like being made uncomfortable. It’s not comfortable when someone you expect to be a doormat spits in your face. It’s not comfortable when you say something racist, because you think every white-appearing person is also a racist, and that person calls you out. It’s not comfortable when you get hassled by a college-aged girl for being an asshole who won’t give up their seat on the bus for a little old lady.

Tough. I’m not going to re-think my anger. In fact, I’m going to increase it. My rage will become a fireball to cleanse this city. I’m a one-woman crusade against rudeness. I will not be someone’s pet. I will not be tamed. I will not laugh at stupid jokes. I will not run across the crosswalk so cars aren’t inconvenienced. I WILL stare you down. I WILL laugh in your face. I WILL roll my eyes. I WILL attack you personally.

So watch out, motherfuckers. I never claimed to be nice.

1 Response to “A Cobra”


  1. 1 Mama Nabi September 22, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    …okay, then. What the hell was that one commenter doing on my blog?

    I hope that isn’t a picture of a cobra that my IE browser cannot open. Because I have a phobia. BIG phobia.


Leave a Reply

