Crapapalooza

I really am not as whiny as my blog makes me out to be.

In real life, I am described as “stoic”.

I come across as hard, detached, and stern.  Maybe it was my Lutheran upbringing, where ketchup is spicy and emotions are frowned upon. My family knows how to have a good time, but their idea of a good time usually involves sitting around talking about farm prices! Haha. Seriously, though, some of the best times I have ever had with my family have been on New Year’s Eve, when people get drunk and play Pictionary.  I see why so many from my community become alcoholics. It is the only time where emotions are acceptable.

Anyhow, I read an excellent book today while waiting for Sean to finish his placement tests: Outsiders Within

It is about transracial and transnational adoptees, their stories told from their fingers.  It felt good to feel validated, to read about the rage, sadness, and confusion that plagues other adoptees. It is not that I wish for them to feel that way, more a feeling of solidarity, of community.  I sometimes feel left out even from adoptee groups. The Korean Adoptee network is HUGE in Minnesota, and there is even a student group at the U of M for KADs. Unfortunately, it is for KADs only.

I am thinking of organizing an all-inclusive group for adoptees.  That will have to wait until after the bone marrow donor drive, which is proving to be a beast of a task to organize.  That’s what I’ll have to focus on for the next month or so.

Anyhow, what I meant was for this to be a short post. Fortunately, years of flute training have made me into quite the windbag.

3 Responses to “Crapapalooza”


  1. 1 Angie in Texas August 23, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    i think that would be a great idea. i have many friends who were adopted by “like” parents and they have many feelings like the ones you expressed. one in particular said some times she feels like she’s not allowed to complain because she wasn’t a transracial adoption . . . i told her her feelings are her and fuck what other people think! if she wants to express herself, she should go all ‘madonna’ and ‘express’ herself!

  2. 2 Mama Nabi August 24, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    …you know that you met one of the authors, right?

    I still haven’t had the time to read it – I need to. I’m still trying to finish our assignment, though.

    I am a donor…

  3. 3 girlbattleaxe August 25, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    I found our book today at Borders for half off after paying full hardcover price on Amazon! Damn.
    I love her blog, and picked it up partly because I recognized her name in the index.
    Have you seen Madonna recently? EWW!


Leave a Reply

