A Dozen Eggs, Please

I’m thinking about becoming an egg donor.

The money would take a huge chunk from Sean’s student loan debt, which would be nice.

Or, it would pay for a lavish vacation/honeymoon to France. No, I’m not actually considering that option. I’m much too practical, unfortunately.

I figure I can handle the mood swings from the drugs. Nothing can be worse than Effexor.  Did you know that Effexor is rated near heroin on the horror of its withdrawal? Mood swings? Bring them on!

Plus, my genes will get thrust on the world without any real effort on my part! Muahahahahaha. They’re PAYING me to reproduce?

Here’s a funny little side note: Effexor withdrawal gave me such insane mood swings that I once burst into tears because Sean farted. “It smells so bad!” (sob, sob). I sobbed, then laughed hysterically, then sobbed until I fell asleep. My husband is a saint, he really is.

3 Responses to “A Dozen Eggs, Please”


  1. 1 Mama Nabi July 24, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I don’t know… I’d kind of freak if I were to bump into one of my egg kids… not freak as in bad freak but freak as in I would want to be their mommy. I would, however, gladly be a surrogate for a friend. As long they promise to let me be a godmother…. okay, okay, it will be an unconditional, no strings attached favor.

    How bad are his farts? I don’t know… shall we bring nose plugs next time?

    I kind of like sobbing into slumber… brings my childhood back.

  2. 2 Krista July 25, 2008 at 4:52 am

    It would be an odd thing, to see your children years and years later. The other weird thing? Some parents never tell their children they are from a different woman! They specifically choose donors based on how closely looks and personality match.
    I think it would be harder to be a surrogate than an egg donor. It’d be hard to leave the hospital without that baby.

  3. 3 Angie in Texas July 26, 2008 at 11:55 am

    HSBF has made a fart or two that made me almost cry . . . does that count?

    once when i was on prozac, i started crying because the cookies i had just baked came out different sizes (unlike the other 3 sheets that were completely uniform!) . . . a friend of mine was on effexor and she said the same thing – the withdrawals were terrible! =/


Leave a Reply

