Battleaxe Swingin’

I haven’t really written much about anger on this site, more about alienation and one of the horrible things that has happened to me.

I don’t want to make it out like I am a whiny victim.

Hell, no.

There is a reason I called myself “girlbattleaxe”: I have a fierce, raging temper.

Racists, homophobes and sexists had better stay out of my way.

I have taken supervisors at workplaces to task for making racists remarks.

I have made grown men cry by skinning them with my words.

I have jumped over desks and slammed far larger people than myself into walls for making cracks about my family.

Okay, I am sure you are curious.

Once upon a time, I was a high school senior at a tiny little high school in Wisconsin. My brother was one of only 6 or 7 people of colour in our entire high school. He’s adopted from India, and a tiny little mite who is barely 100 lbs, but about 5’7. He is a cocky little shit, but that is not the story.

The story is that I was sitting in the computer lab, typing up a story for journalism. Usually I was in that lab alone, because I’m an overacheiver, and took too many classes to fit into the normal journalism 2 class. Anyhow, I was sitting in my little corner, typing away, when I hear two guys come in.  One of them was a guy who was on my Little League team when I was a kid, and who I remembered as a nice guy.

I didn’t say anything, as I needed to finish my story and then edit the final copy before the end of the period.

They didn’t see me, or else didn’t register that it was me, because one of them mentioned my last name.

“Who?” The other guy asked.

“You know, the nigger,” the guy from my little league team answered.

The next thing I know I am leaping onto the long desk that holds the computers, jumping down the other side, grabbing onto the pig’s shirt, and slamming him against the wall.

“What the fuck did you just say? You better not have called my brother that word you filthy unibrowed (yes, he has a disgusting, full unibrow) inbred sack of shit!” I screamed.

“Whoa, I didn’t know you were in here..” he mumbled

“You are a disgusting worm who isn’t fit to lick my brother’s shoes.” (I’m shaking him by now, and his eyes are wide)

The teacher came in, and broke it up.

The creep never, ever met my eyes the remainder of the school year.

2 Responses to “Battleaxe Swingin’”


  1. 1 Mama Nabi July 15, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    ah, the ugly things kids say… Once an Ethiopian girl (at our school) called one of my Thai friends a chink… and that was the last time she said that word, at least within my earshot.

  2. 2 Angie in Texas July 23, 2008 at 3:07 am

    in the fourth grade i neat aaron m. to the ground and pounded his head into the dirt bc he said “girls can’t play kickball!”. (it wasn’t JUST that, it was also the years of “you eat dog” and “chink” comments he’d made . . . needless to say, he never bothered me again. BUT i got in-school suspension for 2 days – thankfully the principle knew i was a good kid and my mom was a “kragee” korean mom and didn’t tell her.) =D


Leave a Reply

