Food Goals

My husband and I are really bad about eating out, especially in the summer. Cooking anything in our small apartment heats the whole place up, which is definitely not a good thing.

I’ve decided to make a list of all our favourite restaurant foods,and try to replicate those at home.

1. Bimibap: We attempted this tonight, and it turned out pretty well!

2. Sushi: I hope to at least make rolls as good as the grocery stores (no t a lofty goal)

3. Barbecqued ribs: There is no way we will ever equal the local barbecque joint, Lee and Dee’s, but we can at least try.

4. Chicken dumpling soup.

5. Burritos: We’ve had some okay tries in the past, but I want our burritoes to be excellent.

6. Pecan pie: This is a personal goal for me alone, because I make one every year for Sean’s birthday. I hate pecan pie, but I want it to be delicious for him. I should have tastings this year before his birthday, so I know if the pie is actually good, or if he is just humouring me.

7. Tempura ice cream: do I need to explain why this is delicious?

8. Pizza: we eat this waaay too much, so we should save money by making it at home.

9. Good pasta: No more of this in a jar sauce, man.

10. Sandwiches: An obvious one, but making a sublime sandwich has eluded us.

2 Responses to “Food Goals”


  1. 1 Mama Nabi July 15, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Um… #6? Mmmmmmm. I LOVE pecan pie. I also have to say it a few times the way Harry says it in When Harry Met Sally. Peek-yan Paiiiiii.

    Isn’t it hard to make???

  2. 2 girlbattleaxe July 16, 2008 at 7:29 am

    I think pecan pie is easy to make, but then again I don’t know if it is actually good or not!
    The crust is the most difficult part, by far!


Leave a Reply

